Skip to content

It Makes Life… Easier.

February 8, 2010
tags:

Or so I think.

I’m talking about my Google Reader. I know, I know, I’ve talked about this extensively before, but in the grand scheme of things, it helps keep my life, my bookmarks, and my head a little bit clearer during the day. I’m going to apologize right now for the recap, for those of you who have been reading since the beginning: I am about to launch into my love affair with my Reader.

Google reader came into my life about a year ago, on a rainy day when I was sad that of each of the 25 or so blogs I checked every morning after arriving at work and procuring my coffee, only 3 had updates. Truly, this was a disappointment, as I always look forward to new posts, but especially so on rainy, dreary days, days when my to do list for work was practically nonexistent but yet I still had to appear to be working. At this point, I had numerous bookmark folders to hold links to all of my blogs, and on that fateful rainy day, I discovered Google Reader.

Google Reader graduated from beta status in September of 2007, so my discovery of it in May of 2008 was perhaps a bit late. But! Still! Better late than never. It’s one of those inventions that I am oh, so glad that someone invented, but I adore it so much that I wish I could put my name to the creation.

Most people that I talk to about my Reader don’t have much of a clue as to what I am talking about, which pleases me secretly. This means that I have the opportunity to potentially change the way someone lives their online life, and make the information overload that others speak dreadfully of a little more manageable. And that is exactly what the Reader does best: simplify. I might even go so far as saying that the Reader provides what most are looking for: time. We all need more time, and yes, while the Reader does encourage consuming a lot of content, it is providing an answer for the demands of the internet culture.

Because aggregators have yet to be adopted by much of the general public, there is opportunity out there make these life-changing applications better and easier to use. Right now, RSS limits the major design elements from blogs being added into the Reader, but in the future, there is the possibility that entire blogs will be brought to you directly in your Reader. With more and more people joining the blogosphere, chances are you’ll have more and more blogs to follow. And if you’re not an avid blog reader yet, with the push for citizen journalism, there is a very real chance you will become one in the future.

Here’s my plea: If you read blogs, try GoogleReader. Please? And then tell me about your experience, or what could be improved upon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

