Skip to content

Free. Open. Beautiful.

November 13, 2009

Screen shot 2009-11-13 at 11.42.30 AM

I have a thing for fonts. As in, I really like fonts. Really, really like fonts. I obsesses over the perfect combination of serif cum sans. My design projects always, always start with a perusal of font faces. Always. It might actually be one of my favorite parts of my projects, trying to find the exact right type or two to pin down the exactly character and feel for the project.

I was prompted to write about my love of fonts by my discovery of a really beautifully designed font site this morning. Because if there is one thing I love more than a plethora of font choices, it’s a site that is delicious to look at while providing excellent content. Plus! They have a manifesto! How can you not love that?! The League of Moveable Type was created by a small design firm that’s done some really fantastic work I admire.

Screen shot 2009-11-13 at 11.06.37 AM

Basically, they are working to provide a free library of open source fonts that are available for designers to use, especially on the web. Check it out! You won’t be disapointed…

The opposite is true too: I’m the kind of person who also passionately despises certain fonts (ahem, Zapfino, Papyrus, Comic Sans… ) to the point where I will exclaim my hatred at the site of them. Or take pictures of them in foreign countries, marveling over how bad design can cross continents. See below… 🙂

DSCF1827

Oh, Zapfino, How I hate thee…

Have a great weekend everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

