Skip to content

I am a Mac Fan. I am a Mac Fan. I am a Mac Fan.

October 21, 2009
tags:

Screen shot 2009-10-21 at 3.42.41 PMVerizon has a new phone, and it just might have stolen my Mac-stricken heart.

It’s called the Droid. I first saw the video promoting it on Monday, and have been thinking about it ever since.

Since I’m not really one to show devotion for an inanimate object (though I suppose some would argue that smartphones are a step in the animate object direction), it was an exceptionally odd feeling of pure delight that washed over me as I watched the clip on DroidDoes.com. I say exceptionally odd for two reasons:

  • one, the marketing is essentially a direct hit at Apple, one of the few companies I do wholeheartedly support
  • two, the piece ends with a weird futuristic vibe that I somehow reconciled with the message: Everything iDon’t, Droid Does.

If you haven’t yet seen the advertisement, take 20 seconds and visit the site, as I don’t want to spoil the experience by merely telling you about it. Though you won’t get an immediate view of what the phone looks like or how much it costs, you will know that it can do a lot of things that the iPhone can’t. And it moves away from that silly phase of using capital letters in silly places…

Verizon got me. They set out to target the Mac Fans and may have just won me over. I’d have to see about pricing… and there’s that one little detail I’d have to navigate: a mobile service contract with att… But those things can be changed!

“Don’t you wish you had a robot sidekick that moved at lightspeed, could get you out of any problem and lived in your pocket?”

I do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. funnypumpkin permalink
    October 21, 2009 10:31 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only one in love with Verizon’s marketing campaign of Droid. Even though they are the next contender to carry the iPhone on the US markets, they didn’t shy away from blatantly showing everything that Droid does…and well the iPhone doesn’t.

    Interesting side fact: They went as far and to gain copyright permission from Lucas Studios to use the name “Droid”.

  2. andersj permalink
    October 21, 2009 12:09 pm

    Extremely well done. It shows you are hip to what’s happening. This battle between the “closed” devices like iPhone and the mostly “open” Android phones was not very heated up until now, but there’s a good chance that the Google platform is finally coming into its own this fall. It is good news along several fronts, including the maintenance of a free and open flow of creativity and innovation. Yeah, Android! Wouldn’t it be nice if Apple would go “open” as well?

  3. dparsonsmedia permalink
    October 21, 2009 5:16 pm

    Linda,

    Great catch with this ad campaign! I find it extremely effective, and I too am an avid Mac lover. I also have an iPhone, and dream of the day when I can stop feeling like I am restricted at every turn. Am I ready to make the switch? Not quite. But these ads are the first that have succeeded in getting me thinking about it…

Leave a Reply

