Skip to content

I Care. Do You?

October 5, 2009
tags:

Screen shot 2009-10-05 at 4.23.56 PM

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m kind of passionate. Or emphatic. Some might even say manaical… Anyway, what this means is that when I find something to support, I do so wholeheartedly. One cause I am crazy intense about is the environment, and that involves doing my part to keep this world a little cleaner and a little safer. You might think that rinsing out plastic bags and reusing them is a little extreme, but it’s just one of the things I do, on top of obsessing about recycling every piece of plastic and every piece of paper than I can.

Clothing is one sector of my life that is difficult to deal with in terms of my ecological footprint. I would love to donate my entire wardrobe and start over, replacing my sweaters with ones made from organic alpaca wool and jeans of eco-friendly dyed cotton, but this is less than practical and far from economically feasible on the bank account of a grad student. So what am I to do? Start the New Year’s resolution season a little early, and vow to purchase clothing from environmentally conscious companies in the future.

Screen shot 2009-10-05 at 4.30.38 PM

Like Patagonia. The new feature on their website, called The Footprint Chronicles, is what inspired me to write this post in the first place. If you haven’t seen it yet, go check it out. It’s one of the coolest interactive websites I’ve seen. Through an interactive map, photos, video, and a beautiful design interface, the Chronicles aim to tell the story of the garments Patagonia produces. With the stories, you can see where the material was made, where the garment was sewn and how it was transported to you.

Patagonia has been looking out for the world almost since its inception with their innovative programs and focus on quality and sustainability. You can read more about their amazing mission statement here. They even have a program to recycle clothing that can no longer be worn, saving all those hole-y t-shirts from the dump.

It’s pricey, but worth it, from my perspective. I care about the environment. Do you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. andersj permalink
    October 7, 2009 1:36 am

    I care! And this is a good post.

Leave a Reply

