Skip to content

Just Say No… to Video Games?

September 28, 2009
tags:

Screen shot 2009-09-28 at 11.14.40 PM

If only my parents had known that video games would be my portal into the future, perhaps they wouldn’t have dismissed them entirely. In the not-so-distant future when people are hired based upon their leadership skills in World of Warcraft and Second Life, I might find myself behind in the times because of my lack of exposure.

I’m sure, at the time, my mother and father thought that they were doing the right thing, so really I can’t blame them for failing me. My father probably still thinks he did the right thing, as adamant as he is about things of this nature. And really, blaming my parents is just an excuse: I never wanted to play video games in the first place. It was my brother who was denied the Nintendo 64 and Playstation experiences. The jury is still out on whether or not this was a beneficial deprivation. At the time, I thought nothing of it. I learned how to type, how to command programs in MS-DOS, how to research on the Internet, and how to chat, email and download music. I never was interested in gaming online, unless you count Lemonade Tycoon, of which many, many hours of my freshman semester at Cedar Crest were devoted.

Perhaps it is why I now have an aversion to social media. People are saying that World of Warcraft and other MMORPGs (stands for Massively MultiPlayer Online Role-Playing Games, and no, I did not know that three weeks ago) are the new golf: a social activity that sporty and relaxing. Then again, I don’t really like golf either.

Would you hire someone based on his or her online gaming presence? It’s one thing to Google an interviewee, its another thing entirely to interact with them without them knowing through a medium such as Second Life.

Oh future, do I like where you going?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

