Skip to content

finding yourself elsewhere.

September 25, 2009

I’m not about to get all “self-help” or existentialist on you, so not to worry. Promise. I’m not talking about elsewhere in the vague sense of being somewhere other than you currently are… The “elsewhere” to which I am referring is the coolest place I’ve been to date in Greensboro.

I’m really not kidding about just how cool this place is. From the moment I stepped into the warehouse, I felt that I had been transported to elsewhere, a place where sheer numbers of miscellaneous intrigue reign supreme and color jumps out and bites you around every corner. Overwhelming to some because of this very feeling, elsewhere immediately drew me into eclectic atmosphere and played the keys of my short attention span. I love thrift stores and old things and fabric and notions and collecting miscellaney in jars, so elsewhere felt like home to me.

elsewhere also very much felt like my grandmother, whom I call Babci (Polish for grandmother), was standing right there with me, giving me ideas and showing me the collection as her own. In a way, elsewhere transported me to the small town of Moscow, Pennsylvania, a place my Babci and Dzadzi (Did you guess it? Polish for grandfather!) have called home for the past 35 years. The colors, the smells, the puzzles, the fabric, the toys, the sense that everything had the chance to be used for a purpose other than for which it was made followed me around the rooms of elsewhere.

You’re lost, aren’t you, those of you who haven’t been to elsewhere? Let me step back a moment, and give you a little context. In essence, elsewhere is a living museum. It began in the 1930s as a general store, and over the years the widow who owned it became something of an eclectic hoarder. You can visit the website for more history, but as the place was excavated begining in 2003, the grandson had a vision of turning the warehouse of things into a living residency program for artists. Totally amazing and awesome, like wow, right?

The story is fascinating as is the process and the guy who runs elsewhere. I encourage you to visit! Or return, if you’ve been there before, as the place is always changing.

I want to share with you some of the images I processed from my visit to elsewhere, from which I most certainly did not want to return… These will be used as the starting point for an interactive self-discovery project to be launched later in the semester. Enjoy!

You can visit my flickr page if you’d like to see more images. Just click on the elsewhere collection. And, have a great weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

