Skip to content

Let’s Party!

September 23, 2009
tags:

Image.ashx
(I’d like to take the time to sincerely thank WordPress for telling me that my post was published yesterday. Turns out, WordPress lied. So, here you go: Celebrating OneWebDay, Version 2.)

It’s OneWebDay, (Think, Happy Birthday Earth Day!) so have a piece of cake. Or a cupcake. Or maybe even a whole cake! If you’re reading this right now, you should be celebrating: you’re one of 25% of the world population that has internet access.

Because access in America is much much higher, around 70%, it may be difficult to imagine that only 1 out of every 4 people in the world is able to hop on the web whenever they want. Many of us take for granted that we can tap into the collective knowledge of the web at any given time, but we should recognize that not every individual has this ability. Even in North Carolina, only 61% of the population over the age of 3 has access to the Internet at home. It’s something to treasure, truly.

Sadly, I cannot remember the first time I accessed the Internet, and I am left wondering if this lack of memory is a hallmark of my generation. Do you remember the first web page you visited?

I do remember that my first email account was at excite.com, and solely for this reason: you could change the colors of your home page, which I thought was the Coolest Thing Ever when I was in eighth grade. Do you remember your first account? Do you still have access to it?

I digress… you should be celebrating! Really, you should be celebrating the World Wide Web everyday, because it is a privilege to have access to the wealth of knowledge.

But before you leave, tell me about your first World Wide Web experience? I’d love to hear your story, and maybe it’ll help trigger mine…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle Ferrier permalink
    September 24, 2009 8:46 am

    My first web experience was checking out Star Trek fan sites on the web. Wow, I thought I had entered a new world myself when I found all that information out there, available to me.

    My first email account was on excite.com too. I still have two accounts there that I’ve maintained over the years. One I know is at least 10 years old because it references my two kids when I have three now. The youngest is 10 years old.

    So, voila, my first WWW experience. Of course, I was using pre-web internet stuff with Gopher even before this, but images and color and layout — magical!

    Michelle

  2. Steph permalink
    September 28, 2009 7:00 am

    My first email address was with AOL. I remember the first time I heard the AOL dial up- it was at the Shoemakers ( my next door neighbors) since they got internet before we did. But I also remember the first time we connected at our house, I must have been in about 5th grade. First website…. I have no clue.

Leave a Reply

