Skip to content

Emotion Is Always Key

September 16, 2009
tags:

Books first captured my head in my heart around the third grade. I got my very first pair of glasses and would take three different novels to school every day, just in case I finished one while on the bus or surreptitiously during math class. It was the narratives, the stories, that captured my imagination and allowed me to live a life that was far more exciting than my own, without the dangers and embarrassment that comes with being a fictional character in a book written for 8 year olds. I remember crying hysterically on the bus over a book. I loved the characters that much.

Stories evoke emotion. Stories are about experiencing a feeling; stories are about the connection you can make when you hear someone tell you a story in their own voice. For generations, we have done this through various print forms: the novel, the magazine, the newspaper. Now, interactivity is changing the way that we tell stories, as we gain the capabilities to share not only words, but also images and sound.

In a way, we are combining media that people have used for entertainment for decades (think movies, books, and newspapers) and are now gathering the elements (pictures, words and sound) and putting them in short form to ascribe to the current micro trend. We then set these stories loose on the world so that people can feel human connection on a global scale.

Picture 1

The New York Times did an excellent piece (linked to in the image above) this past spring that ascribed to do just that. Entitled, “One, in 8 Million” it comprised “the passions and problems, relationships and routines, vocations and obsessions” of the people of the city. The city of New York is unique, but it is the characters in the city that makes it so. Each person that you walk by every day has a story, has a reason why they are there at that very moment. In profiling these individuals, the Times restored a sense of community through stories.

Stories aren’t going away. They are too ingrained in our culture. The future will be one of stories, multimedia and probably interactive. In this way, we can continue to strive towards the innocent goal of the World Wide Web: a sprawling, global community of conversation that spans every nation.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. andersj permalink
    September 17, 2009 2:35 am

    I usually lurk and just enjoy, but I do want to tell you that your blog is just pure class. I love it and I savor it every time you add a new post.

    • lindaclaire03 permalink*
      September 17, 2009 4:24 am

      Thanks Janna! I enjoy writing them, so I’m happy to hear someone looks forward to reading them. Plus, I love the phrase “pure class.”

Leave a Reply

